VAST 11 – an iPodyssey – by Patina Head

VAST 11 – an iPodyssey

by Patina Head

Somehow, I’ve managed to get access to The Danielle’s entire music library. These are my musings as I navigate the largest and most amazing library of music in the world as I go through my day-to-day. Enjoy!

PART ELEVEN

I’ve been internet dating and I place a lot of stock in people’s music fave lists.  It really tells you a lot about the person, whether they are soft and easily damaged (no rap! no death metal!) and hence kind of lame, or whether they describe their music aggressively as if to prove their cred (no pop!  no britney/xtina/justin etc.) and are hence kind of insecure in their need to be super cool.  I like a girl who has a decent collection, a nice range, listens to almost everything including stupid-pop (a new genre?), and doesn’t need to prove anything with it.   If there was a college radio convention I might go and meet my dream girl, or multiples thereof.

“…What really matters is what you like, not what you are like… books, records, films – these things matter. Call me shallow but it’s the fuckin’ truth, and by this measure I was having one of the best dates of my life.” – Rob, High Fidelity.

Leave a Reply

